Student Business Services
Student Billing Information and Notifications
Student billing information and statements are available online through the CAMS Student Portal. Students may request a statement from the Student Business Services Office electronically at SBS@floridapoly.edu.. Per University Policy FPU-3.0011P Email as Official Form of University’s Communication with Students, balance notifications will be communicated to the student by email using their University designated email address.
Tuition Liability & Payment Deadline
Students are liable for all tuition and associated fees with all courses for which the student is registered at the end of the drop/add period. Students liable for tuition and associated fees for any given semester must pay by the fee payment deadline published in the Academic Calendar to avoid assessment of a Late Payment Fee. In addition, failure to timely pay tuition and fees or make acceptable and appropriate arrangements for payment will result in the cancellation of the student’s course schedule per University Policy FPU-4.004 Procedure for Payment, Waiver and Refund of Tuition, Fees, Fines, and Penalties. It is the student’s responsibility to pay all fees and costs of enrollment at the University by the established deadlines. These deadlines are published on the university website.
Tuition and Fees
Pursuant to FPU-4.001 Tuition and Related Fees Schedule, the following tuition and associated fees shall be imposed and collected on a per-credit-hour basis, for each student enrolled, unless provided otherwise by law, or by Board of Governors or University Regulation. For more information regarding tuition and fees, please visit the Florida Poly website.
Third Time Repeat
Effective fall 2009, each student enrolled in the same undergraduate course more than twice shall be assessed an additional sum to cover 100 percent of the full cost of instruction, as established by the Board of Governors, for each such course in addition to the tuition and associated fees above. A student may request an exception to the third time repeat charge per University Policy FPU-4.006 Third Time Repeat Course Fee Exception.
Excess Hour Fee
- For students who enter a post-secondary undergraduate program for the first time in the 2009-2010 academic year and thereafter, the University shall require the student to pay an excess hour surcharge equal to 50 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
- For students who enter a post-secondary undergraduate program for the first time in the 2011-12 academic year and thereafter, the University shall require the student to pay an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 115 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
- For students who enter a post-secondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education for the first time in fall 2012 - Spring 2019 shall pay an excess hour fee equal to 100 percent of the undergraduate tuition identified in Florida Board of Governors Regulation 7.001(3) for each credit hour in excess of 110 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
- For students who enter a post-secondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education for the first time in Summer 2019 or thereafter shall pay an excess hour fee equal to 100 percent of the undergraduate tuition identified in Florida Board of Governors Regulation 7.001(3) for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
Registration of Zero Hours
Registration for zero hours provides for a student’s examinations, co-ops, internships, graduations, use of facilities, etc., when deemed appropriate by the University. The student is assessed resident tuition and the associated fees for one credit hour. The Zero Hour Fee shall be distributed in the same manner as tuition.
Audit Registration Fees
Audit registration assures a course space for the student; however, the student is not awarded a grade for the course. The charge for the Audit Registration Fee is the same as the resident tuition and associated fees, as applicable, that would be charged to a resident student taking the course for a grade.
Returned Check Fee
The University assesses a service charge in accordance with Florida Statutes section 832.07(1) for each unpaid check returned to the University.
Late Registration Fee
Any student who fails to register prior to the registration deadline published in the academic calendar will be subject to the late registration fee of $100. Students may request a waiver of the late registration fee due to exceptional circumstances per University Policy FPU-4.004 Procedure for Payment, Waiver, and Refund of Tuition, Fees, Fines, and Penalties.
Late Payment Fee
Any student who fails to pay their tuition and fee liability prior to the fee payment deadline published in the academic calendar will be subject to a late payment fee of $100. Students may request a waiver of the late payment fee due to exceptional circumstances per FPU-4.004 Procedure for Payment, Waiver, and Refund of Tuition, Fees, Fines, and Penalties.
Special Fees, Fines, and Charges
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Payment of tuition and fees may be made online, by mail, or in person at the Student Business Services Office during regular office hours. Payments need to be received by 5:00 p.m. on the payment deadline published in the academic calendar in order to be consider timely paid.
Online services are available for viewing account details and making payment. Students may pay online by credit card (American Express, MasterCard, Visa, Discover) through their CAMS Student Portal. Online payments will be subject to the University’s convenience fee, which may not exceed 2.3 percent of the payment amount.
Payments by check or credit card may also be made via the desk located in the Student Business Services area of the Wellness Center.
For payments by mail: Make the check payable to Florida Polytechnic University. Include your ID number, name, address and phone number on your check.
Mail your payment to:
Florida Polytechnic University
Student Business Services
4700 Research Way
Lakeland, Florida 33805-8531
Deferred Payment of Tuition and Fees
The Office of Financial Aid automatically issues tuition and fee payment deferments for students who have been awarded and have accepted financial aid where financial aid is delayed due to circumstances beyond the student’s control. In situations when an administrative error caused the student to be ineligible for an automatic deferment or when the student experiences a documentable, unexpected financial hardship, a manual deferment may be processed. The President or designee may award a 60-day tuition and fee payment deferment when the student is a recipient of VA benefits or when the student has an acceptable third party that has agreed in writing to pay for the student’s tuition and fees.
Waiver of Tuition and Fees
Per University Policy FPU-4.002 Waiver of Tuition and Fees, Florida Polytechnic University will waive tuition and/or certain fees as required by the Board of Governors regulations and Florida Statutes.
Refund of Tuition and Fees
The University authorizes certain refunds of tuition and fees, less deduction for non-refundable fees and unpaid debts to the University. Credit card convenience fees, late registration fees and late payment fees are non-refundable fees.
- One-hundred percent of the applicable tuition and refundable fees will be refunded if the student drops a course or causes his or her enrollment in the University to be terminated by the Office of the Registrar prior to the end of the drop/add period;
- Twenty-five percent of tuition and refundable fees, less Building and Capital Improvement fees, will be refunded if the student drops a course or causes his or her enrollment in the University to be terminated by the Office of the Registrar prior to the end of the fourth week of classes, or at an appropriate time as designated by the University for summer sessions, and submits a completed Refund Request Form.
- One-hundred percent of tuition and refundable fees will be refunded if, within six months of the end of the semester to which the refund is applicable, a student who has withdrawn or dropped a course completes and files with the Office of the Registrar a Fee Adjustment Request Form citing recognized circumstances outside the student’s control, and such recognized circumstances are confirmed and the refund is approved by the Registrar. Recognized circumstances that will be considered within this six-month period include:
- Illness of the student of such severity or duration, as confirmed in writing by a physician, to preclude completion of the course(s).
- Death of the student or death in the student’s immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling, or grandparent) that precludes completion of the course(s).
- Involuntary call to active military duty.
- A situation in which the University is in error. The amount of a payment in excess of the adjusted assessment will be refunded.
Non-payment of Tuition and Fees
Per University Policy FPU-4.004 Procedure for Payment Waiver and Refund of Tuition Fees Fines and Penalties, failure to timely pay tuition and fees or make acceptable and appropriate arrangements for payment, will result in cancellation of the student’s course schedule. A student whose course schedule has been canceled cannot thereafter attend such courses and will not obtain credit for such courses, until the schedule is reinstated.
A student who makes an effort to pay the tuition and fees, including but not limited to making partial payments by credit card, check, or by use of any type of financial aid or scholarship, grants, waivers, third party contracts, Florida Bright Futures, and/or Florida Prepaid, by the published tuition payment deadline, will not be canceled from their courses, and the student will be considered liable for any unpaid tuition or fees.
Students who have not paid, or made acceptable and appropriate arrangements for payment, of their tuition and fees by the tuition payment deadline shall be assessed late payment fee and be precluded from receiving grades, transcripts or diplomas until the tuition and fees have been paid. When registration opens for a given academic term, any outstanding balance in a student’s account will prevent the student from being able to register for courses, or from receiving transcripts or diplomas until the student’s account has been paid in full.
If a student incurs a tuition and fee liability from the reversal of financial aid or the addition of new charges, after registration has opened for the next semester, the student must pay that liability in full before the start of the upcoming semester. Failure to make payment in full will result in the cancellation of the student’s course schedule for the upcoming semester.
A student whose course schedule has been canceled will be sent written notice of cancellation through university email, to the student’s last known email address on record. Such notice will include a deadline by which the student may apply for reinstatement of such course schedule.
Per University Policy FPU-4.004 Procedure for Payment, Waiver and Refund of Tuition, Fees, Fines, and Penalties, a student whose scheduled courses have been canceled for financial reasons may request reinstatement by the Registrar or designee through the fourth week of classes. Upon approval for reinstatement, tuition and fees; the late registration fee, if applicable; the late payment fee and other debts owed to the University must be paid in full by check, money order, cashier’s check or credit card before reinstatement will be affected. After the fourth week of classes, a student can request a late reinstatement from the Office of Financial Aid.
Means of Collection
Per University Policy FPU-7.006 Student Debt Collection, the University may employ any legal means for collecting student debts owed to the University, including but not limited to, any one or more of the following actions: issue collection letters; send notices by electronic mail; attempt to contact the student by telephone; engage a collection agency; suspend a student’s academic progress; cancel a student’s course schedule; preclude or restrict the issuance of a student’s grades or diploma or the release of a student’s transcript.
Delinquent accounts sent to a collection agency will incur collection costs that will be added to the outstanding balance due by the student. In addition, the University shall assess a charge representing the reasonable cost of collection efforts to effect payment for overdue student loan accounts.
Office of the Registrar
The mission of the Office of the University Registrar is to ensure the accuracy and security of student academic records, as well as comply with University security policies as defined under FERPA and other higher education regulations. Additionally, the Office of the University Registrar will provide quality, professional and efficient support service and assistance to students, faculty, alumni and colleagues. The Office of the Registrar maintains the University Catalog.
Technology Services (TS)
(Computing, Data, Voice and Video Communications, Educational Media, and Document Services)
In support of students, faculty and staff, Technology Services (TS) serves as the focal point of all University matters pertaining to Information Technology. Its mission is to plan, program, operate and maintain effective, efficient and innovative common-user IT policies, procedures and systems.
Florida Polytechnic University’s TS department provides students, faculty and staff, email and calendar accounts; online storage accounts; learning management system access; web space; and server access. It also maintains general purpose computer facilities, innovation labs and electronic classrooms.
The TS homepage contains information about available services and systems, the wired and wireless network, printing options, contacting the TS Help Desk located in IST South Commons and using the student Computer Resource Center facilities.
For further information, please contact Technology Services at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 863-874-8888.
Appropriate Use of IT Resources
The University provides its IT resources to authorized users to facilitate legitimate objectives in a secure electronic environment. Users are responsible for their use of any IT resources, including activity originating from the user’s account within the user’s control. Users are responsible for keeping their University accounts and passwords secure and may not share their University accounts or passwords with others.
Please see FPU-11.0018P Appropriate Use of IT Resources policy to read in its entirety.
Filing a Complaint
Below is contact information for filing a complaint about the institution with the Florida Board of Governors.
Florida Board of Governors State University System
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1614
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
To request that a complaint be addressed, please complete and submit the Student Complaint Form.
Below is contact information for filing a complaint about the institution with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges 1866 Southern Lane
Decatur, GA 30033
To request that a complaint be addressed, please read the following instructions and fill out the complaint form: http://www.sacscoc.org/pdf/081705/complaintpolicy.pdf
Tuition Residency Appeals
A student may appeal an initial residency classification or reclassification decision within 30 days of receipt of the decision. Students are still responsible for all tuition and fees incurred while the appeal is being processed.
Please see FPU-4.0012P Tuition Residency Appeals policy to read in its entirety.