Jul 22, 2024  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Academic Catalog and Student Handbook 
2021-2022 Undergraduate Academic Catalog and Student Handbook [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Faculty, Staff, and Administration

Florida Polytechnic University is a member of the Florida State University System (SUS).

The Faculty and Staff Directory is available here: https://floridapoly.edu/directory/index.php

Board of Governors

Syd Kitson, Chair

Board of Trustees


Clifford K. Otto, Chairman

R. Mark Bostick, Vice-Chairman

W. Earl Sasser, Trustee

Bob Stork, Trustee

Gary C. Wendt, Trustee

Beth Kigel, Trustee

Dr. Laine Powell, Trustee

Lyn Stanfield, Trustee

Dr. Narenda Kini, Trustee

Dr. Susan LeFrancois, Trustee, Faculty Assembly Chair

Dr. Ala J. Alnaser, Trustee, Assistant Professor

Samantha Ashby, SGA President & Trustee

Florida Polytechnic University President’s Cabinet

Randy K. Avent, Ph.D., President

Terry Parker, Ph.D., Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Regina Deiulio, Vice President and General Counsel

Kathleen Bowman, Vice President of Advancement and CEO of the Florida Polytechnic University Foundation

Academic Affairs Administration

Terry Parker, Ph.D., Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Kathryn Miller, Ed.D., J.D., Vice Provost of Student Affairs

Tom Dvorske, Ph.D., Vice Provost of Academic Affairs

BenMatthew Corpus, Ph.D., Assistant Vice Provost, Admissions & Financial Aid

Andrew Konapelsky, M.P.A., University Registrar


Department of Computer Science

ChairShahram Taj, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

Assistant Chair: Doga Demirel, Ph.D., University of Arkansas, Integrated Computing

Youssif Al-Nashif, Ph.D., The University of Arizona, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Bradford A. Towle Jr., Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno, Computer Science & Engineering

Muhammad Rizwan Abid, Ph.D., University of Ottawa, Computer Science

Karim Elish, Ph.D., Virginia Tech, Computer Science

Abdelwahab Hamam, Ph.D., University of Ottawa, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Luis Jaimes, Ph.D., University of South Florida, Electrical Engineering

Bayazait Karaman, Ph.D., University of Arkansas, Information & Computer Science

Christian Navarro, M.S., Florida Institute of Technology, Information Technology

Ashok Patel, Ph.D., Hemchandracharya North Gujarat University, Computer Science

Saleem Sahawneh, Ph.D., University of Central Florida, Electrical Engineering

Oguzhan Topsokal, Ph.D., University of Florida, Computer Science

Feng-Jen Yang, Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology, Computer Science

Ujan Mukhopadhyay, M.E., National Institute of Technology, Computer Science

Department of Data Science & Business Analytics

Chair: Shahram Taj, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

Assistant Chair: Reinaldo Sanchez-Arias, Ph.D., The University of Texas at El Paso, Computational Science

Mostafa Ardakani, Ph.D., The Catholic University of America, Industrial Engineering. Iran University of Science and Technology, Industrial Engineering

Grisselle Centeno, Ph.D., University of Central Florida, Industrial Engineering

James Dewey, Ph.D., University of Florida, Economics

Susan LeFrancois, Ph.D., University of Florida, Pharmacology/Physiology

James Mennie, Ph.D., University of South Florida, Business Administration

Sravani Vadlamani, Ph.D., Arizona State University, Civil Engineering

Lizhen, Shi, Ph.D., Florida State University, Computer Science

Jikhan Jeong, Ph.D., Washington State University, Economics

Sutanu Bhattacharya, M.Tech., Jadavpur University, Distributed & Mobile Computing

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Chair: Bruce Jacob, Ph.D., University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, Computer Science and Engineering

Muhammad Rashid, Ph.D., University of Birmingham, UK, Electrical Engineering

Balasubramaniyan Chandrasekaran, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Electrical Engineering

Harish Chintakunta, Ph.D., North Carolina State University, Electrical Engineering

Md Selim Habib, Ph.D., Technical University of Denmark, Photonics Engineering

Mohammad Reza Khalghani, West Virginia University, Electrical-Power

Hisham Mamood, Ph.D., The University of Western Ontario, Electrical Engineering

Rawa Adla, Ph.D., University of Detroit Mercy, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Ashiq Sakib, Ph.D., North Dakota State University, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Onur Toker, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Electrical Engineering

Muhammad Sana Ullah, Ph.D., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Youssif Al-Nashif, Ph.D., University of Arizona, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Chair: Mary Vollaro, Ph.D., University of Connecticut, Materials Science & Engineering

Matt Bohm, Ph.D., Missouri S&T, Mechanical Engineering

Gerardo Carbajal, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Mechanical Engineering

Aslihan Vuruskan, Ph.D., Missouri S&T, Aerospace Engineering

Younggil Park, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Mechanical Engineering

Edwar Romero-Ramirez, Ph.D., Michigan Technological University, Mechanical Engineering

Sanna Siddiqui, Ph.D., University of Central Florida, Mechanical Engineering

Seyed Soltani, Ph.D., Wichita State University, Mechanical Engineering

Daren Watson, Ph.D., University of Central Florida, Mechanical Engineering

Elisabeth Kames, Ph.D., Florida Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Christoper Kelley, Ph.D., University of Central Florida, Mechanical Engineering

Musa Norouzian, Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, Mechanical Engineering

Environmental Engineering Program

Malak, Anshassi, Ph.D., University of Florida, Environmental Engineering Sciences

Derek Henderson, Ph.D., University of Virginia, Civil Engineering

Ajeet Kaushik, Ph.D., Jamia Milia Islamia and National Physical Laboratory, Chemistry

Xioafan “Caleb” Xu, Ph.D., University of South Florida, Environmental Engineering

Department of Physics

Chair: Antonio Ruotolo, Ph.D., University of Naples Federico II, Innovative Technologies for Materials, Sensors and Imaging

Nicoleta Sorloaica-Hickman, Ph.D., Clemson University, Physics

Sesha Srinivasan, Ph.D., Banaras Hindu University, Solid State and Condensed Matter Physics

Emadelden Fouad, Ph.D., Cairo University, Theoretical Physics

Wilfred Ngwa, Ph.D., University of Leinzing, Germany, Physics

Department of Applied Mathematics

Chair: Mike Brilleslyper, Ph.D., University of Arizona, Mathematics

Ala’ Jamil Alnaser, Ph.D., Kansas State University, Mathematics

Aaron Bardall, Ph.D., North Carolina State University, Applied Mathematics

Abigail Bowers, Ph.D., Clemson University, Mathematical Sciences

Jared Bunn, Ph.D., The University of Tennessee, Mathematics

Myles Kim, Ph.D., Brown University, Engineering

Manoj Lamichhane, Ph.D. The University of Toledo, Mathematics

Jaeyoun Oh, Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi, Computational Science with an emphasis in Mathematics

Adam Rumpf, Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology, Applied Mathematics

Department of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Chair: Tom Dvorske, Ph.D., Oklahoma State University, English

Wylie Lenz, Ph.D., University of Florida, English

Elizabeth Kelly, Ph.D., University of Miami, English

Jennifer Lee, M.S., University of Central Florida, Interdisciplinary Studies

Patrick Luck, Ph.D., John Hopkins University, History